• amsterdam-rai-72

Sarphati Sanitation Awards 2017


In 2013 World Waternet, Netherlands Water Partnership and Aqua for All initiated the biennial Sarphati Sanitation Award (SSA) to honor the outstanding contribution of individuals and organizations to the global sanitation and public health challenge through entrepreneurship. This biennial ‘Sarphati Sanitation Award’ was inspired by Dr. Samuel Sarphati, a doctor who contributed to the cholera free status of the City of Amsterdam as far back as the end of the nineteenth century. He achieved this by initiating a business to collect and transport human excreta out of town and use it as fertilizer to grow crops, thus improving the health status of the fast growing population of Amsterdam.

This year the Sarphati Sanitation Awards will be handed out for the third time during the Amsterdam International Water Week (30 October). In 2015 it was decided to make two Prize Categories and Dr. Kamal Kar of the CLTS Foundation was awarded for Lifetime Achievement in the creation of demand for sanitation. As for the Young Entrepreneurs category Safi Sana was recipient. You can check out the Aquatech interview with the two winners after the Award Ceremony here: 

Also after 2015, Sanitation as a Business has continued to be an innovative, fast developing sector. In 2016 the Toilet Board Coalition screened around 100 entrepreneurial sanitation initiatives. The Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and The World Bank both are active promoters of sanitation as a business. The evaluation held in 2016 amongst the Sarphati Jury and Nomination Committee revealed that the focus should still be on entrepreneurship in 2017. Their recommendations were: Keep the focus on urban sanitation – open defecation in cities is increasing and focus on the challenge of small cities which especially in Africa are growing very fast. And keep stimulating entrepreneurs but also acknowledge the role of public servants, nominate individuals who create value out of what was hitherto regarded as waste and thereby improve health and do this on a sizeable scale.

Procedure Sarphati Sanitation Awards 2017

  1. Nominations for the Sarphati Sanitation Award for Young Entrepreneurs will be made by a Nomination Committee consisting of experts from the sanitation sector, acknowledged visionaries and funding agencies;
  2. Nominations for the Lifetime Achievement Award will be proposed by Mayors and other public servants in fast growing cities in Africa and Asia. They will be approached by the Dutch Embassies;
  3. The Nomination Committee will compose a shortlist of 6 nominees per prize;
  4. The Jury will then appoint a winner for the Lifetime Achievement Award;
  5. The Jury will appoint a winner for the Award for Young Entrepreneurs and two additional nominees will be chosen and publicly honored during the ceremony;
  6. The prize (a certificate, a cheque and a statue) will be handed over by the Mayor of Amsterdam or his direct representative during the official opening of the AIWW on October 30, 2017.

Composition of the Jury

Our expert jury is looking forward to reviewing the world's most outstanding contributions to the global sanitation and public health challenges. The Jury of the Sarphati Sanitation Awards 2017 will consist of sanitation experts from the public and private sector, the scientific world and international organisations:

  • The Honorary Chair: Mayor of Amsterdam
  • Ms Lidi Remmelzwaal: Chairperson of World Waternet – representing the Municipality of Amsterdam. Chair of the SSA Jury 
  • Dr. Arno Rosemarin: Senior Research Fellow at the Stockholm Environment Institute
  • Prof. Dr. Sybe Schaap: Chairperson of the Netherlands Water Partnership 
  • Dr. Claire Furlong: Lecturer/researcher in Non-Sewered Sanitation at the Environmental Engineering and Water Technology Department of IHE Delft Institute for Water Education

For more information please download the guidelines or contact the Sarphati Secretariat: Sarphati2017@aquaforall.org


Sponsored by